My Love Affair With TV

I love to watch TV, that’s no secret. And it’s also no secret that I’m working to have a career in TV writing. And it’s no secret that for my thesis in grad school, I developed and wrote scripts for two TV series. I can’t get enough of it. And I’m looking forward to the new shows coming out this fall and spring 2011-2012 season.

There are three that I’m super looking forward to. And when I say looking forward to, that means will make a conscious effort to watch every week.

New Girl

New Girl on FOX

Zooey Deschanel stars as Jess, an adorable girl in her 20s who has just broken up with her boyfriend. But she was also living with him and now she’s homeless. She finds a room in an apartment she’ll be sharing with three guys, Nick (Jake Johnson), Schmidt (Max Greenfield) and Coach (Damon Wayans, Jr). In an effort to stop the non-stop Dirty Dancing on their TV and constant crying, they make Jess their project and get her to go out into the real world again. But although Jess may be adorable, she’s not comfortable hanging out with guys.

I’ve watched the trailer several times and it still cracks me up. We’ve been talking about new shows over at #tvwriterchat and development executive Zac Sanford read and watched the pilot and loved it. I cannot wait! It’s funny and unique, which is what I love. It doesn’t try to be witty and smart, it’s just funny.

New Girl premieres on FOX, Sept 20, Tuesday, 9/8c.

Apartment 23

Apartment 23 on ABC

Originally titled, Don’t Trust The Bitch In Apartment 23, Apartment 23 stars Dreama Walker as June, who moves to New York from the Midwest. She moves in with Chloe (Krysten Ritter), the bitch in Apartment 23, who swindles everyone, including her roommates. But when June fights back, Chloe is shocked because nobody has ever done it to her before and pulls June in to her circle of friends.

I wasn’t a fan of the original title and thought it wasn’t interesting. But when I saw the trailer, I immediately loved it, first because of Krysten Ritter (I’m glad she’s finally getting her break!), and the premise is unlike anything I’ve watched before. There have been similar shows in the past but they were all “opposites attract” show and they become best friends by embracing their opposing personalities. Apartment 23 is different. They fight back and that’s why they become best friends. Love it!

Apartment 23 will premiere in midseasons 2012 on ABC.

Awake

Awake on NBC

Awake stars Jason Isaacs as Detective Michael Britten, who survived a car accident that took the life of his wife. He and his son survives and learn to live their lives without his wife. But the next day, he wakes up next to his wife and finds out his son died in the accident. Now, he doesn’t know which waking moment is reality and which is a dream. Is he awake or dreaming? What is real and what is not?

I love Jason Isaacs. Everytime he’s on somewhere, on TV, in a movie, I watch it just so I can watch him. This is no exception and the premise is actually captivating. It also comes from Kyle Killen of short-lived Lone Star, which got rave reviews from critics. So yes, I am looking forward to Awake.

Awake will premiere in midseasons 2012 on NBC.

So which shows are you looking forward to this season?

Leave a Reply

