Home But Not Quite

I’ve been living in my current apartment for four months now and so far, all I’ve bought, to make it feel like home, is a futon, a coffee table, a dining table/desk, a microwave and a couple of shelves. Oh, and let’s not forget the airbed because I’m too broke to buy a real bed. My walls are bare except for two wooden 5×7 frames and a painting a friend gave me before he left to go back to the Philippines. I did order a couple of poster prints that I can hang on my wall to give my apartment a little more personality.

I’ve been looking at a lot of design websites and getting decorating ideas. But I’m pretty screwed. I’m not very good at all those DIY stuff. I mean, I can do it. But on small-scale projects. What am I good at? Delegating. *wink*

But anyway, two weeks ago, though, I bought the first furniture that gave my apartment some personality. I bought a green dish chair. And the first thing I did, slept on it. And sleep I did! Well, almost, since I had to get up after an hour. It was $25 and it was the best purchase I’ve had in a long time.

The next thing I need, a swiveling desk chair. All I’ve got right now is a folding chair and it’s killing my lower back! But I need one that has arm rests because I will fall if the chair doesn’t have those barriers. I found one at Container Store but it’s $139! No chair, no matter how beautiful, is not worth $139. The search is still on.

I did find my ideal nightstand and it’s only $10!

Leave a Reply

